Bonnybridge Bowling Club
Bonnybridge Bowling Club
CLUB COMPETITIONS 2009 (Compiled by Mike Robinson)

Gents 2 Bowl Pairs - April 19th
Only 24 members attended this our first internal competition of the year. We were blessed with a nice sunny day and some good bowling. After the free draw we played in two groups of 6; so we all had 5 games of 6 ends with the 2 Group winners contesting the final.
The final saw Jim Winning and Andy Miller beat Kenny McArdle and Robert Bunch in a close game, a special mention should go to Graham Binnie and John Carson who missed out on the final when they lost their only group game by 1 shot to the eventual winners.

Gents Invitation Triples - Sunday 10th May
The Invitation Triples was played in 2 groups of 6 with the first two in each contesting the semi-finals. Losing semi-finalists were W Hamilton, J Hunter (Boreston), R Salmond (Allandale) and T Logan (Allandale), T Bradbury, S Beck. The Final was contested by J Henry, J Henry Jnr (Bainsford) & J Ormond (Castings) who lost to G Burness, D Piggott (Allandale) & S Scott.

Gents Triples - Sunday June 7th
Only 18 members attended the event this year (I often wonder why some people join a Bowling Club, but its their loss as those who attended had a great day in glorious sunshine) so each team had 5 games of 6 ends each with the winner being decided on points won.
The decision to seed Skips and Leads this year rather than going for a free draw was justified as before the last games were played we had the possibility of 4 teams finishing on 6 points. However it materialised that one of the teams drew, one lost and the only team with 6 points going into the last game narrowly won by 5 shots to 4 and were crowned the winners.
The winning triple were Terry Shaw, Jim Winning and Eddie Liddle (Skip)
Runners Up were Sean Walshe, Gorden Burness and Jack Carson Snr.
The other entries Robert Blair, Tom Monroe, Hugh Harden; Michael Kennedy Jnr, Willie Baxter, Jim McMurtrie; Robert Anderson, Jack Rolland, Mike Robinson; Willie Turnbull, Jim Henry, Sandy Thomson

Ladies Invitation Triples - Sunday 14th June
With 14 Triples attending we played in 2 groups of 7 with the first two in each contesting the semi-finals. The Losing finalsists were Grace Hetherington (Bainsford), Jackie Short and Margt M'Leod (Bainsford); Ethel Harden, Bunty Harley and Elma Finlay (both Allandale). Unfortunately due to the inclemant weather the Final was not played so the Title and Prizes were shared by Nancy Cook, Moira McGregor and Anne Whitehead (both Stenhousemuir); Mary Millar, Jean Ross (both Talbot Street) and Ina Campbell

Gents Rinks - Sunday July 9th
Unfortunately this had to be cancelled, only 8 names on the list; It is in the middle of the holidays - But!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Gents Invitation 2+2 - Sunday July 26th - CANCELLED
This event would have been sponsored by Alexander & Easton, fortunately they are willing to sponsor another event later in the year

BOSLEM TROPHY - Saturday August 1st - CANCELLED

A very successful day attended by 24 Triples (See results here)

LADIES MIXED TRIPLES - Sunday 6th September
Unfortunately this competition was fore shortened by the rain

Peter Shaw Quaich - Saturday 12th September
This new competition was organised by Tom Horn, the Trophy ‘The Peter Shaw Quaich' was donated by Peter’s Sister Molly.
The last competition of the year saw 6 pairs from four clubs compete for the 'Peter Shaw Quaich'.
Each club played 5 games among themselves to decide which team from each club progressed to the semi-finals.
The losing semi-finalists were J Leggate, D Love from Raploch Larkhall and J Burnett, J Swierczek from Bonnybridge Club.
The final was won by P Semple, S Beck Bonnybridge Seniors who beat W Hobkirk, M Smith from Camelon.
We would like to give a special vote of thanks to our sponsor Alexander & Easton of Bonnybridge.

Role of Honour 2009
Gents Section - Chamionship: S Scott R/up J McMurtrie; McIntyre: J Winning R/up J Dunsmore; Co-Op - J Winning R/up B Bunch; 2 Bowl Pairs: A Miller & J Winning R/up K McArdle & B Bunch; Nominated Pairs: W Hamilton & J McMurtrie R/up S Walshe & W Turnbull; Balloted Pairs: T Monro & A Miller R/up W Hamilton & R Blair; Nominated Triples: T Shaw, P Williams & J Winning R/up T Monro, J Henry & T Baxter; Balloted Triples: T Shaw, J Winning & E Liddle; Consolation: G Nelson R/up B Baxter;
Player of the Year Jim Winning

Ladies Section - Championship: S Black R/up M McGuire; Rosebowl: S Black R/up J Osborne; Doris Ross: S Black R/up K Winning; Novices: K Winning R/up C Grogan; Four Bwl Prs: J Short, M McIntyre R/up J Rice, E Harden; Two Bwl Prs: S Black, J Osborne R/up A Paterson, M Alexander; Two Bwl Triples: S Black, M Meechan, J Osborne R/up M Leiper, E Baxter, E Harden; Triples: J Rice, L Wallace, J Taylor; Mixed Prs: M McIntyre, T Munro; Veteran Champion: M McGuire R/up A Paterson; County Fours Winners: I Campbell, N Cook, J Rice and E Harden;
Player of the Year Seona Black


Bonnybridge Bowling Club

Drove Loan
Larbert Road


Want to become a member?

Call us on: 01324 815833


or contact us directly using our online contact form.



This years AGM will be held at Bonnybridge Bowling Club on Tuesday 21st February 2017 at 7-00pm. Come along and support your club